

Board Governance and Personnel Committee Minutes January 9, 2024

Attendance at Committee Meeting:

Board Governance and Person	nel Committee:
Gregory Thall, Chair	
☐ Treasurer Stacy Garrity	
Christopher Craig, Design	nee for Treasurer Garrity
□ Llyod Ebright, Designee f	for Treasurer Garrity
☐ Thomas Waters, Designed	e for Treasurer Garrity
Senator Vincent Hughes, Ass	•
Matthew Lindsay, Design	
Antoinette Marchowsky, I	_
Secretary Wendy Spicher	5
Seamus Dubbs, Designee	for Secretary Spicher
Eric Pistilli, Designee for	• •
☐ Jeffrey Soderstedt, Design	• •
David Henderson	ari
Other Board Members:	
Donald Enders	
Senator John DiSanto	
Charles Erdman, Designed	e for Senator DiSanto
Rep. Dan Frankel	
Anne Baloga, Designee fo	or Rep. Frankel
Daniel Ocko, Designee fo	-
Gregory Jordan	
Rep. Brett Miller	
Michael Heckmann, Design	onee for Ren Miller
☐ Michael Treatmann, Best,	-
Secretary Uri Munson	p. Miller
Secretary of Munison	
SERS Senior Leadership	
☐ Elizabeth Christian	Brenda Cunard
Deputy Executive Director for	Deputy Executive Director for Member &
Administration	Participant Services
Cynthia Collins (Cmte. Staff)	Thomas Derr
Director of Governance & Strategi	Director of
Initiatives	Communications & Policy
☑ Jo Ann Collins	Pamela Hile
Chief Compliance Officer	Press Secretary



□ Daniel Krautheim		
Chief Information Officer	Deputy Chief Counsel	
N. Joseph Marcucci (Cmte. Counsel)		
Chief Counsel	Chief Investment Officer	
◯ Katie Mathews (Cmte. Staff)	Steven Skoff	
HR Director	Deputy Chief Counsel	
Ryan McCoy		
Internal Audit Director	Executive Director	
☐ Michael McGeoy	William Truong	
Assistant Chief Financial Officer	Deputy Chief Investment Officer	
Sara McSurdy		
Chief Financial Officer		
SERS Board Committee Support		
⊠ Rose Agnew		
Executive Secretary	IT Generalist	
Kelly Bernhard	□ Brett Shaffer	
Administrative Assistant	IT Generalist	
☐ Joel Burgo	Matthew Soule	
Information Security Specialist	IT Generalist	
☐ Taylor Frey	Mark Walter	
Administrative Officer	IT Administrator	
□ Randy Gilson		
Technical Support Division Director		

Other SERS Staff

- Mark Farina
- Kara O'Donnell
- Sheila Willrich
- Shannon Zimmerman

Other Attendees

• Brian Kimmetz, Rock the Capital

1. Call to Order

At 9:50 a.m. Executive Director Joseph Torta called the meeting to order.

2. Welcome and Introduction

Executive Director Torta welcomed Committee members, designees, and other non-Committee Board members.



3. Election of Committee Chair

Executive Director Torta opened the floor to nominations for the position of Committee Chair. Gregory Thall was nominated for the position and appointed by unanimous vote.

The roll call vote tabulation was as follows:

Board Member	Vote
GARRITY	Yes
Designee:	
HENDERSON	Yes
HUGHES	
Designee: Marchowsky	Yes
SPICHER	
Designee:	Yes
THALL	Yes

4. Appointment of Assistant Chair by Committee Chair

The Committee was informed of Senator Vincent Hughes' ineligibility for the position of Assistant Chair. Senator Hughes served in this capacity for the maximum permitted three terms. Chair Thall deferred the appointment of an Assistant Chair to a future meeting.

5. Comments/Concerns/Questions

None

The meeting adjourned at 9:52 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Katie Mathews

Human Resources Director

Katie Mathews

Cynthia L. Collins

Cynthin L. Cel

Director of Governance and

Strategic Initiatives